Post Cards

I love postcards. I love sending them, receiving them, and collecting them. When I find old postcards from places I’ve been I can’t help but think back to all the great times I had. I also love to see how places have changed or stayed the same over times. If there are cars in the postcards there is pretty much a guarantee that they have changed. Sometime that’s the only change to be found and other times there are major physical changes to the structures or landscapes. After staring at all the postcards hanging on my wall I thought it would be cool to compare some of them with pictures that I have from my vacations. I’m going to start with the Arizona.

Let me just start by saying that the Grand Canyon is so vast that there is no way I could match the postcard I have with the exact location it is modeled after. Now, having said that, I think the photo that I’m using looks pretty close to the postcard. With the Petrified Forest I couldn’t find any photos of mine that fit the postcard so I just picked one that I liked.

 

 

Next we head the Washington D.C., I absolutely love this city. It is by far one of my favorite places in the states. I never get tired of looking of looking at all the pictures and the postcards really do the city justice. Lincoln is my favorite president so I’m really in favor of the postcard of his monument. The picture I have is taken from the opposite side of the postcard.

 

Another thing I love about this city is the Smithsonian Institution and the main building is one of my favorites. It reminds me of a castle and the history of the building is pretty amazing as well.

 

Washington is also one of my favorite presidents and while his monument is simple, I really admire it. When I was in D.C. it was under repair because an earthquake had just hit the area. We also visited his home, Mt. Vernon. The house is absolutely beautiful. My postcard is facing the water while the photo is facing the property.

 

 

We also visited the Jefferson Memorial and my dad visited the Library of Congress. As you can see, in the bottom right corner of the Library of Congress, a new building has been built since the postcard was made. In fact, it’s pretty modern.

 

 

Next we head to Italy which is particularly interesting to me. I loved Italy, especially Florence and to find a postcard of the Duomo, Gold’s Bridge, and the square made me incredibly happy. That city will always hold a place in my heart. It is home to one of the best days of my life.

I also have several from Rome. One is of Colosseum, and the other two are of the Roman Forum. The Roman Forum is much more expansive than I expected and I could have taken more picture for sure.

 

 

 

Next we head to Paris, one of the most iconic cities in all of Europe. One of the first things I saw in Paris was the fountain below. It was the first thing we saw after getting off the subway and it’s one of the first things I think of when I think about Paris. We briefly drove past the poll that’s next to it but I’m not entirely sure what it’s called. And of course my collection from Paris would be nothing if I didn’t have one of the Eiffel Tower. We also stopped briefly at The National Academy of Music.

 

 

This isn’t even a big dent in my collection. I still have many places to go and other angles to capture. I will to continue to expand my collection and spend time finding ones of places I’ve been or plan on going to. When I get a postcard in the mail it completely makes my day, and every time I send one, I feel like I’m sending a memory. Getting to share your experiences with others is half the fun of getting to have them and postcards are the perfect way to tell people all about your adventures.

Leave a comment