Art speaks

For my second post about common themes in travel I want to talk about art and art museums. Many of the most famous works of art are housed in the most famous art museums in the world. Art is in an expression like no other. There are many different types of art and an amazing amount of people who have been blessed with the talent to create it. I will not be including architectural feats, only the art that is housed in museums. They will be in another post. Let’s get started.

When it comes to this first museum I personally think their motto should be “go big or go home.” The Louvre, as you might have guessed, is the largest museum in the world.  It would take three months non-stop to see every piece of art that calls this museum home. That being said, it’s no surprise that it is home to some of the most famous pieces of art. The building is a feat of art itself. Though it started out as a fortress during war it has turned into the most visited museum in the world.

DSCN5366DSCN5412

One of the most famous works of art in the Louvre is the Mona Lisa by Leonardo de Vinci. There are many stories that surround this work of art. That’s not at all surprising when you consider that the Mona Lisa was stolen and had both acid and a rock thrown at it. After she was recovered she was placed behind bullet proof glass which has come in handy.

DSCN5419

The Louvre is also home to the world-famous Venus de Milo. Although she is the most popular of the greek sculptures, she is not alone. The museum is also home to Artemis, Pan, and many others from Greek legend.

 

One of my favorite pieces of art that I saw during my short visit is the one pictured below. I had never heard of this piece before but I was immediately in love with how the colors of their cloths stood out from the rest of the painting.

DSCN5417

While I could spend the rest of my life writing about art from the Louvre, there is no time and I don’t have that many pictures. Next we move to Florence for a not so conventional museum. The Loggia dei Lanzi is home to a variety of different sculptures. The Rape of Polyxena, The Rape of Sabine Woman, Hercules and Nessus, and Perseus with the Head of Medusa (from left to right).

 

Also located in Florence is the David by Michelangelo. And while the Accademia is home to the David it is also home to many other works of art, most of which depict Christ or saints.

 

When it comes to London there is none other than The National Gallery. There are no photos allowed inside but it is full of beautiful art including the Sunflower by Van Gogh. It has also been make famous by the giant blue cock and the lions that stand outside.

DSCN5919

Now we move from the more traditional kinds of art to that of the more abstract. While I was in Chicago one weekend I came across these colorful bears. I’m not sure what  they were for but I found them quite cute and fun.

DSCN4439

I’ve written about this next art form before but I thought it also deserved a spot here as well. I have come to love glass art, specifically that of Dale Chihuly. His most recent permanent display is in Seattle, WA. He is originally from Washington so this museum is right at home. He uses all kinds of techniques to achieve different shapes and colors. If you want to read more about him or his other work you can check out my post on Chihuly Glass.

 

For our final museum I am taking you on a trip to South America. The Guayasamin Museum in located in Quito, Ecuador. Guayasamin is the most famous artist to come from Ecuador. His art is incredibly moving. Each one depicts the suffering of a nation of people as they were taken over by the Spanish.

The last photo is of the outside of the museum. Admittedly it isn’t very pretty but the inside of the dome is one of my favorite pieces. I don’t have any photos because weren’t allowed to take any inside. The other photos were taken from outside the building looking in. Inside the dome is a painting of people trying to escape, to reach sun light. It’s all about how people were forced to work in mines for their entire life. Some people were born in, and died, in those mines. I highly recommend looking it up for yourself.

Art is very powerful. Some works of art change our lives or tell stories of a revolution that changed somebody else’s life. Where there is life, there is art. As time passes we can look back on the art that was created and tell stories that could never be perceived in the same way. Art has value and when people don’t see the value in it terrible things happen. It’s important that the world cherishes the amazing works of art that we have the opportunity to witness. I hope I get to visit more amazing museums and see the countless works of art they hold.

Leave a comment