Traveling With a Polaroid

It’s no secret that I love photography. I try to flood my posts with as many of my favorite pictures as I can. I have almost complete control over this process. I get to preview the photos before I even take them which almost guarantees the results I want. There is one exception to this: my polaroid.

While I still get to pick what I want to be in the photo, there is no guarantee that the photos will turn out the way I want them to. Depending on the lighting you shoot in, you might not get anything at all.Then there’s the fact that traveling with film means that it doesn’t necessarily get to stay in the conditions it needs to function properly. On top of all of that, there’s a chance that the film will expire before you get the chance to use all of it. I have shot in all of these conditions with my polaroid while traveling. While some of them did not turn out the way I would have liked, I wouldn’t change the results. Here are some the places I have taken my polaroid and the unique photos I have captured.

Texas in black & white film:

Ecuador 2015: These photos were taken on newly expired film after having been through many changes in storage temperature.

Prague: The second photo is supposed to be the John Lennon wall but it received too much sun exposure.

Amsterdam: No, you are not seeing two of the same photo. When I took this photo I dropped the first one and when I recovered it I though that it would be overexposed so I took it again. They both turned out great and I have a fun little story to go along with them.

Morocco:The third photo was supposed to be the sun rising over the dunes but there was not enough light.

Venice: Two different views of the Grand Canal.

Florence: While I thought I had developed a steady hand for taking polaroids, Florence said otherwise. I had to retake a few of them because they were’t turning out the way I wanted them to.

Paris: The final photo was supposed to be the sun setting from the top of the Arc de Triomphe. If you look close enough you can see the Eiffel Tower in the left side of the photo.

Various places in France: (From left to right) Mont Saint Michel, Normandy, and Chateau de Chenonceau, and Chateau de Chambord.

 

I love being able to have a physical photo almost instantly after taking it. From now on I will carry my polaroid with me whenever I travel.

One thought on “Traveling With a Polaroid

Leave a comment